Daily Archives: January 11, 2011

Concoction of DOOM: Collard Greens and Sardines

Well, I bought some Quaker Quick Barley at the store, and I had to cook it on my stove. (Because whole grains take some time to absorb water, and barley really takes its time even in “quick” form.) So you know how it is — you start to feel like you want something else cooking in there. So I dumped in a can of collard greens, because dang it, it’s winter and I want collard greens.

But the combination of collard greens and barley is not… exciting. Barley is kind of dark-tasting, and so are canned collards, and it really needed some other taste to brighten it up. I tried lemon juice, but that didn’t do it, and there were already onions in the canned collards. So while things simmered, I got on the internet to get some suggestions.

I found this Korean-American lady who has a couple of concoctions, on her cooking video site, for cooking raw collards in the style of a nice replacement for Korean cabbage. One of them puts in dried anchovies for flavor.

Yes, I’m the kind of person who hears that and thinks, “Hey, I bet you could cook collard greens with sardines for flavor!”

It’s pretty good, really. Sardines aren’t bright-tasting, exactly, but they’re salty and so they do make a nice contrast with the greens (and don’t fight the barley). It’s sort of like a fishy ham hock. So I think this was a successful concoction, albeit I’m probably the only person in the world who’ll want to eat it. (I suspect the black and Southern ladies in my office would bring torches to burn the heretic….)

UPDATE: When I made this dish, obviously there was plenty left over for the next few days (which I anticipated). Each day, the barley has swelled up further, absorbing more and more of the water from the collard greens (aka “pot likker”) and more of the flavor. Today, three days after, the whole thing is scrumptious when reheated in small portions, the barley has really become an asset to the dish, and the fish come in very handy for a Friday meal. Yum.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Menstrual Research Webpage

I hadn’t run across this Canadian medical website before, and it’s got some interesting info and research on subtle variations in the menstrual cycle that can be important. It also has some good stuff to print out and use for charting such things.

(Not a Catholic/natural family planning site, but not totally pill-happy either.)

Google must have changed their search terms lately, or this site optimized itself. Seriously, it’s weird to see serious old sites like this just “materialize”, when they must have been ten or more pages back in the search results before — way behind all the crazy alternative medicine sites. Of course, it’s also possible that they changed the website name or something like that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized