Cooking Pork Loin in the Crock Pot

Well, it turns out that you can cook a big old pork loin in your crock pot without much fussing. You put in some onions and garlic and sugar and salt and spices and water and wine (I put in some sweet chili sauce instead of the Worcestershire in the recipe, and the only wine I had was white instead of red), and you just let it cook. You can cut it up before or during the cooking, whatever you like. (I think it cooks faster if you cut it up, and it also won’t be jammed inelegantly into the pot. But if you don’t like fuss, you can just dump it in.

This is the recipe I used as a base. It looks really good, but I just didn’t have all the ingredients!

At a certain point I tasted the mix that I was cooking it in, decided that it was too pungent, and added a bunch of quince preserves I had around the house. (Some people use apples or apricot preserves or what have you, but I had quince in the fridge.) That cut the pungency and gave it sort of a sweet and sour taste.

The pork didn’t “fall apart” the way most people’s crockpot pork loin apparently does, but it did get tender and easy to separate into smaller pieces. The pork and sauce was very good eating, also.

If you don’t like/use wine (or beer, or cider) when you cook, you can use vinegar or rice vinegar instead.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Cooking Pork Loin in the Crock Pot

  1. Crock-pot roast is one of my go-to meals–especially if it’s hot. Build the pot, put it on the porch/in the bathroom (one place I didn’t trust the foottraffic, but we did have a second bathroom) and let it go, no heating the oven up.

    I get meat at Cash-and-Carry or this really nice Ethnic* grocery that does “Ten pound sales.” Cut it to the proper cooking size– usually “about a half-inch or more on every side when I put it in the bottom of the pot”– and either dump a “cream of” can on it or a soup-and-dip mix, like Lipton makes. Add the flavor veggies (onions, celery, some carrots, potatoes if you want a thick sauce) and cook all day on low. I like to add mushrooms.
    If you want “meat with veggies” type thing, add stewing veggies about halfway through. Or an hour before serving, if they’re frozen.
    The next day, take the center-lump of meat out for sandwiches, take any odd bits off and two cans of veggies (to taste– I like corn and kidney beans) without draining (other than kidney beans, they have a pasty stuff that looks bad) and add to the “drippings,” boom: stew.

    Fun thing I’ve found, you can get pseudo-new potatoes by paying a little more for by-the-pound potatoes and picking the little ones, and don’t run into the waste problems that sometimes happen with ten pound bags. (More now, since my husband doesn’t like baker potatoes.)

    *I was going to say Japanese, but they actually do for all the Asian groups, plus the PI and Pacific Islanders, and they’re not just “Asian” because they also have various European ethnic food and Mexican imports…about the only thing they don’t have is Russian stuff, and that’s because there’s some kind of Russian religious group store across the road that has stuff like take-out borscht.

    • Sat up last night with the out-of-the-blue thought that I need to make a book for “home survival cooking.”

      It keeps sounding better and better. Not normal for late night thoughts.

  2. So glad you liked it! I love the idea of adding preserves. I’ll have to try that next time

  3. Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but
    after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and
    I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

