Daily Archives: January 11, 2008

GaFilk Streaming Audio

So you didn’t make it down to Georgia? Listen to the filk convention, live!

http://dorian.altrion.org:8000/gafilk.m3u

Schedule of Events:

Friday, 11 January 2007

19:00 – 19:45 Opening Ceremonies
20:00 – 20:45 “My Filk” Panel Game
21:00 – 21:45 Concom Choice Concert, Tom Smith [Tom primarily sings humorous songs. USELESS to try to describe him any more than that.]

Saturday, 12 January 2008

12:00 – 12:45 Peter Beagle [As a fantasy writer, high fantasy with a twist. As a singer/songwriter, eclectic.]
13:00 – 13:45 Brian Richardson
14:00 – 14:45 Brobdingnagian Bards [Renfaire Celtic filk pop. Excellent w. marketing, btw.]
15:00 – 16:45 2×10 Slots [Various people who signed up on the sheet sing ten sets' worth of two song sets.]
20:30 – 21:15 Jeff and Maya Bohnhoff [Rock parodies, served up with spirit. Maya's also a fantasy writer.]
21:30 – 22:45 Interfilk Auction

Sunday, 13 January 2008

12:00 – 14:15  Ecumenifilk   [Spiritual song service. Probably not all monotheistic.]
14:30 – 15:15  Closing Ceremonies

All times are in East Coast US time (GMT + 5) and may be fannishly approximate

Leave a comment

Filed under fandom, Filk

Adieu, John C. Wright’s Comment Box!

Yes, friends, yet another LiveJournal person has taken his comment box away from us nameless masses.  This time, it is the scientifantastifiction writer John C. Wright. I know from sad experience that this will inevitably lead to less and less reading of his page, and eventually of forgetting its existence for months and years at a time. But that’s life, in a world harassed by spammers and trolls; and I understand his position.

However, it is my policy that I no longer register for anything, if I can possibly avoid doing so. I already have too many accounts and passwords spread all over the Internet, most of which I will never see again.

Furthermore, it has always been my policy, since the first moment when my appalled eyes were exposed to LiveJournal, not to get an account on that accursed organization. I still don’t know how anybody can stand the horrible way the pages are designed, and I have no mind to sign up there and contribute to their delinquency of taste and cliquishness of organization. Moreover, the fact that fandom in general was so eager to rush over there and sell their souls to the first organization that would woo them… I know it’s been years, but I still find it creepy. Lemming-like.

In short, I fully understand why others join up now; it has become a near necessity in the fannish world. I can force myself to look beyond the LJ horror to read a good enough writer. But I still gag at the thought of signing up myself.  Nor have I had any real desire to join MySpace or any other of the bizarre social networks.

It’s a very odd notion, really — “You should join my network, so you can talk to me.  But I won’t join your network to talk to you, or even deign to visit your page despite its openness to comment.” Sorta like trying to make other people visit your church, but not wanting to visit theirs….

Besides, if anybody really wants to talk to me, I have a publicly available phone number. Do people call me? Even though I got a message machine and everything? Even though long distance is no longer any more expensive than local calls? For the most part, no. Therefore, it is very easy to tell the difference between friends and pleasant acquaintances.

But I digress.

So to recap — no more commenting over at Mr. Wright’s for me, just as I’ve already sacrificed being able to see friends’ Livejournals (“I’m going to friends-list only”) or comment in their comment boxes. In exchange, no eldritch chills or puking sensations. (Yes, LiveJournal really does make me feel that way. )

Even so, I suppose that if I really need to comment on something written by Mr. Wright, I could always send him a letter. But bah!

*goes to drown her sorrows by reading Girl Genius and Megatokyo*

2 Comments

Filed under fandom