An Amazing Hugo Awards Year

I still can’t believe that I’m old enough to know people with Hugo nominations.

1. SF Signal won for Best Fanzine. It is the first blog ever to win. Amazingly well-deserved. Broken is the domination of the sf hardboots! (Well, not really. But ya get tired of seeing the same nominees every year, even though they be worthy nominees.)

2. Jo Walton won the Hugo for Best Novel for Among Others, beating out Martin and Mieville, among others. Go, rasfw alums!

3. Seanan McGuire won a group Hugo, as part of the SF Squeecast podcast. She was nominated several times this year under her own name and pen names, about which the host even joked at the start.

4. Betsy Wollheim was finally nominated for Best Editor (longform), after 47 years of editing some of the best books in the business. She noted in her speech that her father, Donald A. Wollheim (early early sf fan, editor, and founder of DAW Books) had never won one at all.

(Which I hadn’t realized, and which stinks. Of course, he was a famous fan-feudist when young, which might have had something to do with it.)

5. Ursula Vernon won a Hugo for Graphic Artist for her marvelous epic webcomic, Digger. If you’ve never read it, start now!!

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees!


Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “An Amazing Hugo Awards Year

  1. Thanks! It’s all very exciting. I’m still riding on air. 🙂

  2. Craig

    Wouldn’t they have had to give Wollheim the Elder some sort of one-off Special Achievement award to honor him? There wasn’t a book editor award during his life. Or was he ever eligible for the Best Fan Writer award?

    • IIRC, book editors and magazine editors were both eligible for the Best Editor, back in the day, though of course magazine editors had more opportunity to recruit votes.

      I don’t recall when the various fan writing awards started. I’d think that Wollheim’s invention of the great ghod Ghu (ie, himself) would have been found worthy.

      • Craig

        I looked it up: Best Fan Writer started in 1967, and is explicitly for fan writing done in the previous year (although I’m sure that’s a more-in-the-breach rule). I don’t think Wollheim was doing fan writing any more in ’67, though I would probably have tried to shoehorn him in if I’d been a Hugo voter back then. It looks like a few pros got nominated the first few years and withdrew themselves from consideration, but they were writers and not editors.

        Best Editor only dates back to 1973, but it looks like Wollheim was nominated twice at the beginning — for his year’s best anthology, not his book work as such. However, yes, they started nominating book editors as early as 1979.

  3. Craig

    Oh, and while I’m commenting: it’s interesting that there was so much crossover between Hugo and Nebula this year: novel, novella, and short story.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.