Playing The Secret World

Foxfier has been recommending The Secret World MMO for approximately forever. The game went “buy to play” recently (you buy the game, then play it free from then on, no subscription), and Amazon had it on sale.

The first thing to know is that you have to download more than 15 GB, so be prepared to stop and start your downloader a lot. Also be prepared for the downloader to crash. The good thing is that, once you start, it remembers how far along you are.

The annoying thing is that, like almost all MMO’s I’ve played, you have to be able to maneuver with your arrow keys/WASD keys and your mouse buttons and your mouse wheel, and the camera flips around and makes you feel sick like always. (I want a joystick for this junk.) Also, they never explain how this works, and just assume you know.

However, there’s a very interesting storyline emerging, although I sorta doubt if I’ll get there while constantly running into walls. Also, lots of interesting dialogue to which you yourself never need pick a fake response.

The nice thing is that it’s very interested in providing you with immersive puzzles and investigation. But you do have to fight at some point.

And it will undoubtedly help if I can ever move where I plan to go.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Playing The Secret World

  1. I keep forgetting the learning curve…. Glad you like it so far, hope you enjoy it!

    I always fiddle with the camera so that it’s “locked” into following…I think that’s how it’s described, anyways…..

  2. I’ve been playing since the open beta. Drop me a line if you need anything; it’s a great game.

  3. I really like playing Secret World, the trailer’s were really good. Who are you playing as? ~ Don

  4. Howdy! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old
    room mate! He always kept talking about this.
    I will forward this article to him. Fairly certain he will have a good
    read. Many thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

