Words from Wisdom from Sinead O’Connor!

Sinead O’Connor tells Miley Cyrus the prose version of the cautionary ballad:

“The music business doesn’t give a shit about you, or any of us. They will prostitute you for all you are worth, and cleverly make you think its what YOU wanted.. and when you end up in rehab as a result of being prostituted, ‘they’ will be sunning themselves on their yachts in Antigua, which they bought by selling your body, and you will find yourself very alone.

“None of the men oggling you give a shit about you either, do not be fooled. Many’s the woman mistook lust for love.

“Yes, I’m suggesting you don’t care for yourself. That has to change. You ought be protected as a precious young lady by anyone in your employ and anyone around you, including you…

“You are worth more than your body or your sexual appeal…

“I repeat, you have enough talent that you don’t need to let the music business make a prostitute of you. You shouldn’t let them make a fool of you either… They’re there for the money… we’re there for the music. It has always been that way and it will always be that way. The sooner a young lady gets to know that, the sooner she can be REALLY in control.

“…I felt I would rather be judged on my talent and not my looks. I am happy that I made that choice, not least because I do not find myself on the proverbial rag heap now that I am almost 47 yrs of age… which unfortunately many female artists who have based their image around their sexuality, end up on when they reach middle age.”

O’Connor also encourages Cyrus to fire the butt of anybody working for her who didn’t counsel her against doing the stupid stuff.

Found via Mark Shea.

UPDATE: The open letter has disappeared from O’Connor’s website. Well, it was fun while it lasted; good thing I copied part of it.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Words from Wisdom from Sinead O’Connor!

Leave a Reply

