In Which the Banshee Uses the Command Prompt

I wanted to merge a bunch of HTML files from my epub into a Word file, for Amazon purposes. Calibre does convert HTML into RTF, but I was unsure about using RTF. (I have a bad history with RTF.) Preferably, I just wanted one HTML file out of many.

So I consulted the wisdom of the Internet, and was reminded that you can merge certain kinds of files through the old DOS Command prompt.

I don’t think I had ever had to use the copy and merge command before, but it is a lovely way to get things done fast. And you don’t lose the original files, either.

The big thing to remember is that merging works by numerical order and then by alphabetical order. Numerical order is determined by the first number you see, so number from 01 to 10 instead of 1 to 10.

Enjoy the ancient power of the command prompt!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

