Dogs and Cats and Biblical Proportions

Enbrethiliel has a good post up about animals and God. (It must be good; she links to me.) šŸ™‚

It is lucky for dogs that we Catholics accept Jewish scriptures written in Greek — because Jews in Israel didn’t think much of dogs, but the writer of the Book of Tobit thought that of course Tobit should have a dog. So if you’re Catholic or Orthodox, pets are scriptural. If you’re not, you have to rely on human tradition. šŸ˜‰

Here’s an interesting article on the Book of Tobit in the Dead Sea Scrolls and St. Jerome’s tail-wagging addition.

Cats have been important helpers of humanity for a long time, and Pope Benedict XVI isn’t the only churchman who’s liked them. For example, there’s the 9th century Irish monk at Reichenau who wrote a little poem about his cat, White Pangur (Pangur Ban). (More translations.) Apparently Pangur Ban (along with his monks) is a main character in an old kids’ Celtic fantasy series by Fay Sampson. Looks interesting.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Dogs and Cats and Biblical Proportions

  1. +JMJ+

    How could I have forgotten about Tobit and his dog??? =P Thanks for the reminder, Banshee!

  2. Hi Mike,

    Our first dog, Toby, we named because my husband was reading Tobit on his way to work everyday while working out of town and riding in a van. That was back in 1976. Toby was not a male dog, but a female and beloved pet. She lived with us for 15 years, but we had to leave her in CA. when we moved back to NE in 1991. I’ve been a dog lover all of my life,and only like cats if they’re …well, more “dog-like.” Some cats are sort of like dogs. We had one that one for a short time in the mid 80’s. Now we’ve had 3 dogs in our married life and they add so much. Our little dog, Tigger, is going on 12 and still energetic and playful as a puppy. We had a German Shepherd for 6 years. We bought her when she was 5 and our boys were still at home. We think in the end she died of extreme ennui, being smarter than all of 4 of us combined. Tigger is a mix breed we saved from imminent death. She’s pretty smart and knows all of her toys by name, but she has no papers or a “doggy degree.” We miss Abigail, Dutchess of the Night, as was her registered name found on her canine dossier, but Tigger seems to thrive around us and I’m glad to be the “alpha dog” once again. šŸ™‚ Thanks for the post.

  3. See what it’s like being me? No wonder Abbie met her demise living here. I was even confused as to whom it was I was commenting having thought you were Mike and I was still on his blog. I woke up way too early today obviously or hot flashes have succeeded in ruining me completely. So I’ll say thanks Maureen for the post. It did bring back some good memories. šŸ™‚ I think I’d better get to Mass early today, and pray for my poor wee brain.

  4. +JMJ+

    Just when I had become convinced that Mike is a common nickname for Maureen in the United States . . . šŸ˜‰ (Just kidding, Susie!)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.