I’d Like a Nice Helping of Uneventful, Please

This has been way too eventful a fall. Labor Day laundry room fire. Hurricane Ike windstorm. Banking crisis and stock market fun. No cable or phone or Internet for a week and a half. My brother going to Europe and then to California, and his horse getting sick while he was gone. People leaving my work group. New people coming in. My lovely weight gain. Me fixing my bathroom sink. Just-delivered Amazon packages being helpfully sent back to Amazon by the mailman. New choir member (good) who hasn’t shown back up yet (bad). Corporate president coming to visit and quietly dropping a bunch of new future responsibilities on our subsidiary. Business servers transferring and phone numbers changing. Big drama at choir practice (in a good way, but still big drama). Election stuff. Plants dying. A new puppy.

So what else could happen?

Well, a lady from my building killed herself the other day, apparently. I didn’t know her well, but she didn’t seem suicidal. She had a new car that was her birthday present, even.

(Please pray for her.)

Today, Rua shied away from a fallen stick that my mom was picking up from the yard, and knocked my mom over by mistake. Mom landed wrong (because of holding the leash and stick) and fractured her arm. Her doctor sent her to the emergency room at a local hospital to get an immobilizer, and she ended up getting caught in the evening rush and waiting there for three hours. I mean, yeah, she wasn’t in pain because the doctor gave her something for that, but still, an annoyance for her and a worry for us. (I still don’t see why her doctor’d send her all the way across town to an emergency room, even if he didn’t have one in stock.)

Oh, yeah, and my dad apparently didn’t find the courtesy phones at the hospital, so he drove over to my place to use my phone. (We don’t do cellphones, but….) Of course my place was in no condition for visitors. (Sigh. Someday people will arrive unexpectedly, right after I’ve finished cleaning the place from top to bottom. But not today.)

I just have to laugh. There’s not much else I can do. Sometimes things just happen all at once, and they’re not going to slow down just for my benefit. 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “I’d Like a Nice Helping of Uneventful, Please

  1. Lucia Rosa

    I hope your Mom gets well soon! And that all the other crazy events turn out for the best.

  2. Maureen

    Thank you. She’s feeling much better today.

  3. That’s pretty emo. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.